The Distinguished Faculty Leadership Award in Arts & Sciences is awarded to an outstanding faculty member in recognition of exceptional service to the University. The award was established in 2014 by Dean Barbara Schaal in recognition of a long history of outstanding faculty leaders who have shaped the University, from developing educational programs and policy to serving on committees and in administration. A $5,000 prize accompanies the award.

All tenured and tenure-track Arts & Sciences faculty, professors of the practice, and lecturers are eligible. Submit nominations to the Dean’s office via mail, Campus Box 1094, or email to Jennifer Gibbs,, by June 2, 2017.

Past Recipients

Jean Allman
J.H. Hexter Professor in the Humanities and Director of the Center for the Humanities

Henry Roediger III
James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences

Joseph Ackerman
William Greenleaf Eliot Professor of Chemistry

Mark Rollins
Professor of Philosophy
Chair of Performing Arts