Eligibility and Award Criteria

Awards are based on outstanding contributions and exemplary performance. Nominees must have at least two consecutive years of service in Arts & Sciences.


Each year, the Dean of Arts & Sciences sends out a request for nominations for the Outstanding Staff Awards. Nominations must include an overview of the individual's contributions and performance. Please include the following when submitting a nomination (no more than 2 pages):

  • What unique contributions does the nominee make to the overall effectiveness of the department?
  • How does the nominee's demeanor contribute to the working atmosphere within (and outside of, if applicable) the department?
  • Please include any additional information that you feel is relevant.

Please email nominations to jgibbs@wustl.edu.

Outstanding Staff Award nominations will be accepted through July 1, 2017.

This awards will be presented at the Arts & Sciences Staff Reception at the beginning of the fall semester. 

Award Selection

The Dean of Arts & Sciences selects the winners of the Staff Award and the Dean’s Award.

The Arts & Sciences Outstanding Staff Awards are presented annually to non-teaching personnel, who make significant contributions to the effectiveness of the teaching, advising, counseling, and research efforts in Arts & Sciences. The Dean also presents a special "Dean's Award" to one Washington University employee outside of Arts & Sciences who makes a significant difference to Arts & Sciences. 

Past Recipients


Serena Carvajal, Performing Arts
Carvajal, an administrative assistant in the Department of Performing Arts, was nominated by Mark Rollins, the chair of the department.

Gerry Kohring, Chemistry
Kohring, the storeroom manager in the Department of Chemistry, was nominated by multiple members of the department.

Allen Wang, A&S Computing
Wang, a senior technical support specialist in Arts & Sciences Computing, was nominated by Jennifer Gibbs.

Dean's Award: Art Ackermann, Facilities Planning & Management
Ackermann is the Associate Vice Chancellor of Facilities Planning & Management for Washington University in St. Louis.

Empress Sanders, Germanic Languages and Literatures
Sanders, the student coordinator in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, was nominated by twelve members of the department.

Mike Dyer, Biology
Dyer, a greenhouse supervisor in the Department of Biology, was nominated by multiple members of the department.

Jim Clancy, Psychology
Clancy, an administrative officer in the Department of Psychology, was nominated by multiple members of the department.

Jennifer Romney, College of Arts & Sciences
Romney, an assistant dean in the College of Arts & Sciences, was nominated by Jennifer Smith, dean of the College of Arts & Sciences.

The Dean’s Award: Barbara Feiner, Finance Feiner is the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Chief Financial Officer for Washington University in St. Louis.